20.9 C
August 19, 2019

Manoj Das – Popular Award-Winning Odia Author Biography

Manoj Das


An Oriya Author equally famous in English literature is Manoj Das (1934) , an Indian award-winning author who writes in Oriya and English with same excellence.

He is internationally recognized and is the recipient of many prestigious awards like the Sahitya Akademi Award, the Padmashri and the Saraswati Samman. He has columns in India’s national dailies like The Times of India, The Hindustan Times, The Hindu and The Statesman. His writings, revealing the deeper truth and the untraced aspects behind current issues, have been highly appreciated.

Manoj Das

Early Life & Career:

Manoj Das was born in a small coastal village named Shankari in Balasore district of Orissa State. Since 1963, he has been an ashramite at Sri Aurobindo Ashram, Pondicherry. Manoj Das is currently an English professor at the Sri Aurobindo International Centre of Education, Pondicherry. He is presently concentrating on writing novels.

He is perhaps the foremost bilingual Oriya writer and a master of dramatic expression both in his English and Oriya short stories and novels. He says that, ‘characters follow the theme of a story and the words are merely added by author to representthe thoughts of the character’. That is the precise reason why Das’s characters in fiction are from so many varied backgrounds and display many different dimensions of human nature. He is a philosopher, a thinker-writer whose works can be defined as quest for finding the eternal truth in everyday circumstances.

Among the other important positions Das has held are Member, General Council, Sahitya Akademi, New Delhi 1998-2002 and Author-consultant, Ministry of Education, Government of Singapore (1983-85).

Das has been compared to Vishnu Sarma, in modern Oriya literature for his magnificent style and efficient use of words and for the fact that, he is one of the best story-tellers in India at present times.

Sahitya Akademi Award, 1972:
Orissa Sahitya Akademi Award, 1965 and 1982;
Sarala Award, 1981;
Vishuba Award, 1986;
Sahitya Bharati Award, 1995;
Saraswathi Samman, 2000;
Padma Shri, 2001.

Selected Works

Amruta Phala, 1996 (Saraswathi Samman);
Aakashra Isara, 1997;
Tandralokara Prahari, 2000;
Godhulira Bagha;
Kanaka-Upatyaka ra Kahani.

Short Story
Sesa Basantara Chithi, 1966;
Manoj Dasanka Katha O Kahani, 1971;
Dhumabha Diganta O Anyana Kahani, 1971;
The Crocodile’s Lady: A Collection of Stories, 1975;
Manojpanchabinsati, 1977;
The Submerged Valley and Other Stories, 1986;
Cyclones, 1987;
A Tiger at Twilight, 1991;
Farewell to a Ghost: Short Stories and a Novelette, 1994;
Legend of the Golden Valley, 1996;
Samudra Kulara Ek Grama (Balya Smruti), 1996
Bhinna Manisha O Anyana Kahani;
Abupurusha O Anyana Kahani;
Laxmi Ra Abhisar;
Abolkara Kahani;
Aranya Ullash
Chasing the Rainbow : growing up in an Indian village, 2004.

Kete Diganta (Part – I);
Kete Diganta (Part – II);
Antaranga Bharat (Part – I) (My Little India);
Antaranga Bharat (Part – II);
Adura Bidesh – 2004.

Tuma Gaan O Anyanya Kabita, 1992.
Kabita Utkala.

History & Culture
Bharatara Aytihya: Sateka Prashnara Uttara,1999;
Manoj Das Pribesita Upakatha Satak (Tales Told by Mystics), 2002;
Mahakalara Prahelika O Anyana Jigyansa, 2006.

Related posts

Mahasweta Ray Is aAn Indian Actress Biography & Filmography


Akasha Re Gote Janha – Bishnu Kabi || Emiti Bi Heipare || Odia Movie


Zeena Samal – Ollywood Actress Biography, Filmography


Leave a Comment